The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This application for a business loan to start the C-Note in Monroe commendable and it seeks to bring jazz entertainment to residents of Monroe. The recommendation is however based on the presumption that jazz is popular in Monroe and by extension that the residents like jazz. To evaluate the credulity of this argument, this group of developers need to provide certain evidences to back their claims. Inability to do so renders the argument void.

The argument assumes that residents are willing to 65 miles to attend the closest club. But it is required to know how many current residents are actually interested in a jazz. This would give an estimate of possible market size. If only few residents, say 20, are ardent fans of jazz, the market size is too small and the club purpose of the club would not be achieved. This can be achieved via a detailed, well monitored survey on the residents of Monroe

The last bases the argument on a national study. Another evidence to be provided is what proportion of the estimated annual $1,000 pending on jazz is attributed to Monroe city. This would further consolidate the claim that residents of Monroe are interested in jazz. For example, if $900 dollars is attributed to Monroe city it implies that residents of are indeed fans of jazz as such the establishment of the club would be a welcomed development; it also presages the success of the business.

The arguments claim that jazz is popular in Monroe because there are several well-known jazz musicians. The group is required to provide the number, names and prominence of these “well-known” musicians. The fact the musicians reside in Monroe does not translate to the interest of the residents in jazz music. Knowing the names and prominence of musician would be instrumental to knowing if the musicians would be interested in the jazz club and if their prominence is sufficient to draw club attendees.

In conclusion, this argument by the group must be subjected to further evaluation. Evidence that support their claims of the interest of residents in jazz must be provided before the loan for a new jazz club can be approved.