The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

It is stated in an application for a small business loan from the group of developers in the city of Monroe that they are predicting that the newly established jazz music club will be a beneficial project for them. However, before evaluating the argument which is cited by the developers some questions need to be answered in which author has assumed some of the matters which flawed the argument.

First of all ,last summer ,nearly 100,000 people who has attend the Monroe”s annual jazz festival,do all people live in Monroe? As it was summer , there was vacation of school and colleges.Teenagers and youth of other cities were free .So,they might have come to visit Monroe city to their grandparents house ,or maybe when they heard about it they had come to attend the festival to make their vacations great and enjoyable. And if this is true , when the vacations will over they will return to their study or work place. In this case , the jazz music club wont be profitable and the argument of the author will surely be weakened .

Secondly ,the typical jazz fan who spends around 1000 dollars on jazz entertainment ,do they all from Monroe city ? It was a nationwide study that they spend this much on jazz entertainment but it was not a statistics based just only Monroe city .It might happen that there are less enthusiasts of jazz fan in this city relatively other cities who are eager to spend this much amount on entertainment .It might also happen the citizen of Monroe city does not like to spend this much amount of money as they have other expenses which is relatively high .If either of these become true ,it will surely undermined the author”s argument regarding the profitable business of jazz club.

Thirdly , keeping the on air show “Jazz nightly ‘ which airs every weeknight and free of cost ,do the people of Monroe really like to go to the club to enjoy jazz music ? Perhaps ,they like to spend some time with his or her family after returning from work and enjoy that radio show at home .Perhaps,he needed to do some unfinished chores in household for which he planned to do for a long time, while listening the jazz music at radio .If these are true the argument will be wear out and surely does not hold water.

In conclusion, as it stands now ,the argument is considerably flawed because of the proper justification and author”s assumption. If the author can present more logical reasons behind this argument and answered these questions regarding gaining profit from a Jazz music club in Monroe ,the developers might give a shot thinking to be beneficial from the club in near future .