Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus—an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal—inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

Write a response in which you discuss specific evidence that could be used to decide between the proposed explanations above.

The author of the argument states that the blompus a carnivorous land mammal was extinct due to various reasons like - disruption in food chain, climatic change and predation of humans. While any of the contentions might be true but the author does not make a cogent case in order to find out the proper reason of its extinction. There is not much evidence provided to support scholar's arguments which are rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to convince the reader to pick the most possible theory among the numerous hypothesises put forward by various scholars.

The first claim by the scientists is that the extinction of blompus coincided with the period of significant climate change and arrival of first humans. It may be possible that the blompus was way extinct before that. The author could have provided the number of years before the climate change occured. The question which needs to be answered is whether the climate change or appearance of first humans also appeared 12000 years ago. This piece of evidence would have bolstered the scientists claim. Even the so called ultimate extinction is also an assumed fact. Did all the blompuses die about 12000 years ago? There might have been a few left and could have survived for another millenium or so.

The scholars theorize the climate change changed the distribution of plants and animals on which the blompus depended. Without knowing the animals/plants the blompus fed on or its habitat we cannot assume that it died of starvation. Did the plants and animals actually get distributed? This question remains unanswered and even though it was true, there is no evidence to support it. If the climate was so harsh even the blompus would have moved. Another supposition is that the predation of humans declined its population. Scientist have determined that the blompus extinction coincided with the appearance of the first humans. These two arguments are contradictory. If any one would be true then the other one would be definitely false. It is even possible that there would have been a superior species which would have hunted the blompus and is not yet discovered by fossils. The extensive increase in the population of the superior species would have caused the blompus to become extinct due to lack of resources. An occurence of a deadly epidemic at that time would also have caused the extinction. It could have been anything.

The litany of the unaccounted assumptions and lack of evidence seriously jeopardizes the conclusions drawn by the scholars and scientists. The scientists have to conduct more research an explore all the variables in order to find out the exact reason for the extinction of blompus just like they have done for dinosaurs.