All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The author states that the companies who are hiring consultants, who suggest ways to help it perform more efficiently, are wasting their time listening to them. Instead, it should listen to it's employees. Consultants do give the best solutions when it comes to increasing profitability or recruitment or be it any issue. But sometimes, even employees have an abundance of ideas which will help the company to thrive. Spending more time with them and understanding their grievances and addressing their concerns will not only boost their morale but also make them work more efficiently.

The degree of the problem the company might be facing also depends on whether it should go to a consultancy or not. For example, if a company is about to become insolvent within a matter of few months then definitely sitting down and asking its employees for suggestions is not going to help. These kind of grave situations demand expert advice and probably it would be the best choice to go to reputed consultancy. But it is mandatory for a company to check whether it is a reputed consultancy. There are a lot of charlatans out there in the market who just look to swindle money out of naive people. If the company is facing minor problems, like employee issues, misunderstandings between the employer and employee or salary issues, then it is obviously not advisable to hire consultants which would be dilatory. This kind of situation can be explained by a simple analogy. For example, in a family if any of the family members has a bone to pick with some other person of the same family. He/she would not like to consult any outsider. Instead, they would consult an elder person of the same family and eventually would solve the issue just by talking to other person. Similarly the minor issues in a company can be easily solved by having a healthy dialogue with the concerned person/group. Finally a conclusion can be drawn which favors both the parties. It will be a win-win situation for both. This would not only be beneficial to the company's profits but also increases its reputation amongst the competitors.

To reiterate, the choice of hiring consultants or not solely depends on the company itself. The intensity of the problem the company is facing is also an important factor to be taken into consideration. Always it is a better idea to maintain a healthy relationship with the employees by taking their suggestions to improve even the smallest things in the company. It not only drives them to work harder but also keeps the environment of the company friendly and without any hassles.