The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local develoobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the West Lansburg council should not allow the access road to be built to ensure a healthy environment of the tufted groundhog. While it may be true that there was a decreasae in the otter population in 1978, the author does not make a cogent case to convince the reader that the same would happen in the sanctuary of groundhogs. It is easy to understand the author's concern for the biodiversity of the region but his/her argument is rife with holes and assumption and thus, not strong enough to persuade the West Lansburg council from not laying down a road.

Citing the evidence of the ancient records, the author states that the tufted groundhog once numbered in millions, however, he/she has not provided with the current numbers of the animal's population. They are probably still in the millions. If there has not been any issue which is harming their population, then there is no reason for the author to worry. A major question which needs to be answered is : Why were they declared a sanctuary in 2004? The author has not provided evidence to support his statement of granting the sanctuary to the hogs. Was it because of the decline in their population due to human interference or were they poached for their body parts? If their population declined due to the increase in human activities in wetlands or because of poaching then, it would be a valid reason for the author to argue against the construction of a road. Unless, he/she provides the above information, it is unlikely to believe that the road would pose a threat to the region's biodiversity.

Additionally, the author provides evidence of the neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary had a decline in the sea otter's population after revoking the sanctuary status in 1978. He/she implies the same would happen if the West Lansburg council decides to promote development along the coastal wetlands. The major assumption made here is that, it was the repeal of the sanctuary status which was the sole reason for the decline in the sea otter population. It may be true if the author would have backed his claim by proving that after the abrogation there were a increase in poaching activities or human-animal interactions whcih resulted in the death of the otters. But unfortunately the author has failed to do so. It is also possible that the a deadly epidemic occured at the same time which decreased the otter population.

The fact that it occured in 1978 is also an important factor to be taken into consideration. Probably, in 1978 more people would have a hobby of hunting in the wild and that would have resulted in the decline. After 1978 stringent laws could have been bought into action to preclude hunting as a hobby and people doing so would be punished severly. Therefore, restoring the otter population back to normal, even though it was no longer part of a sanctuary. To strenghten his/her argument the author would benifit if he/she would gather more facts and provide more evidence regarding the claims he/she has made.

The litany of unsupported assumptions seriously jeopardizes the certainity of the conclusion. If any one of the suppositions is proved to be false, the conclusion would be factually wrong and due to lack of evidence for certain claims, the argument is unlikely to convince the West Lensburg council to ignore the pleas of the local workers.