GRE Argument The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the

The memorandum suggests that the television station is losing advitising revenues because the late-night news has given more time to national news than the weather and local news. However, more evidence is needed to support the assumption that they are losing more customers for not showing more local and weather news.

Firstly, more information will be needed to evaluate the content of the complaints made on the local and weather news. For instance, the complaint could be about the inproficiency of the newscasters rather than the news itself. In this case, focusing on national news may not increase viewers since their complaint is about the presenters and not the news being presented. Like wise, it is possible that the viewers enjoy the news and only wants the news to be presented with more enthusiasm, so employing a more experienced newscater or training the newscasters to be enthusiastic may increase the television view. If this were the case, the assumption that the viewers were decreasing because of the talevison focusing on national news will not hold.

Moreover, it is possible that the televison station changed their rules regarding advertising and the businesses viewed the new rules as unfavourable which led them to cancel their contract with the television station. Therefore, having a knowledge of this will enable the manager to decide on a better strategy of keeping the businesses' contracts and increasing its advertising revenue. In this scenerio, the televison station focusing more on local and weather news will not encourage the businesses to keep their contracts and it would not be a viable solution to increasing the televison station's revenue.

Furthermore, the businesses might be canceling their contracts because there is another televison station that has more views and is offering a promotion at the moment. If another televison station is enticing the business owners to contract with them, the assumption that the businesses are leaving due to the knind of news being presented will not hold. So, it will be better if the manager could survey other competing television station before concluding on what is making the businesses cancel their contract with his televison station.

Overall, more evidence will be required to understand the reasons while views are decreasing and businesses are canceling their cantracts before coming to the conclusion that it is because more time is given to national news than local and weather news.