The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked both its economy and national identity are endangered Because illegal immigrants pose such threats every effort mu

The newspaper editorial claims that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders bacause illegal immigrants endanger the stability of the economy. However, before such a conclusion can be made, it is warranted that some of the assumptions be checked to determine its accuracy.

The argument assumes that the illegal immigrants are toxic and bad people. However, there may be circumstances that warrants for a good person to leave their countries. For instance, it may be that the living situation of illegal immigrant's country is awful and he/she is seeking for a greener pasture for themselve and that of their children. Having such a person in a booming country, either legally or illegally may increase the productivity of that economy. If this were the case, the assumption that illegal immigrants will wane a country's economy is unlikely to hold.

Moreover, the author assumes that the only way to strengthen a country's economy is by building borders and preventing illegal immigration. However, it is possible that the citizens of that country or even the government may be the major factor preventing the economy from stabilizing and being productive. Therefore, strengthening its borders will not be productive in this regard.

Also, the author assumes that the citizens of the country mean well for its economy and does not pose a threat to it. However, it may be that the citizens of the country are lazy and not interested in contributing to the economy. For instance, if most of the jobs in a country are done by illegal immigrants and not the citizens of that country, sending the immigrants back to their countries may threaten the economy of that country. Hence, if this assumption is true, the conclusion that sending illegal immigrants back to their countries will help the economy will not hold water.

Therefore, before a conclusion that illegal immigrants threaten an economy can be made, it is important to examine some assumptions.