Since Herald’s Hardware began advertising on the radio, its revenues have increased by 13%. This is obvious evidence that advertising on the radio will make your business more profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss the soundness of the author’s claim. Be sure to address any information that would strengthen or weaken the argument.

The author affirmed that since Herald’s Hardware increased its revenues by 13% since it began advertising on the radio, advertising on the radio makes any business profitable. This flawed argument makes two incorrect assumptions. It assumes that a causal relationship exists between the increased revenue and the advertising, and it generalizes the example of Herald’s Hardware and presumes that all businesses would follow this model.

Although the author stated that Herald’s Hardware began advertising and increased its revenues, the author has not been able to provide more information to support a causal relationship between advertising and increased revenues. For example, suppose that Herald’s Hardware started a membership program after it aired its advertising, and customers became patrons because they enjoyed membership benefits. This would indicate that Herald’s Hardware increased its revenues because it established more loyal customers. Since the establishment of the membership program coincided with the advertising, it would ostensibly appear that the advertising increased the revenues, whereas in reality the advertising had nothing to do with the revenues.

In addition, the revenues might have been increasing regardless of the advertising. Perhaps Herald’s Hardware has been enjoying a steady increase of revenues at 13% every year and the advertising did nothing to increase its growth. To strengthen the claim, the author should provide evidence that clearly establishes a causal relationship between advertising and increased revenues. An example could be a survey of customers indicating that most of them came to Herald’s Hardware because they heard the advertising on the radio.

The second mistake that the author made was assuming that the example fo Herald’s Hardware was applicable for all cases. For the sake of the argument, let us assume that Herald’s Hardware’s advertising was the main and only factor that caused its revenues to increase by 13%. This does not indicate that other businesses are guaranteed to replicate the success of Herald’s Hardware. For example, perhaps customers who need hardware happen to be people who use radios frequently. If another company advertised on the radio, but its target audience rarely uses the radio, its advertising is likely to be ineffective.

Furthermore, even if potential customers of a company listen to radios and they heard the advertising of the company, they may not be inclined to purchase from the company. An explanation for Herald’s Hardware’s success might have been that it was the only hardware store that aired its advertising, so people only knew about it and flocked there to buy their hardware. Another educated guess would be that their advertising is simply more cogent and it persuaded customers to purchase there. Either way, there is no guarantee that Herald’s Hardware’s success with radio advertising can be mimicked. The author should provide more examples of businesses that increased their profits after they aired their advertising to prove that Herald’s Hardware was not a singularity.

In conclusion, the argument drawn by the author is not convincing because the author has no evidence to support a correlation between advertising and increased revenues, and the author has used a single event to hypothesize that the phenomenon is applicable for all situations. The author should provide more examples similar to Herald’s Hardware and demonstrate the similarities and differences between these examples to verify that advertising on the radio is profitable for businesses.