"True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your essay, consider instances in which the statement does and does not hold true.

The society focuses on aesthetics and beauty and people are often obsessed with a stunning appearance. However, true beauty is often hidden at mundane places. A saying states that “do not judge a book by its cover.” The content of the book, on pale white pages, is more crucial than the lovely images on the cover. Likewise, true beauty is found at everyday places that are significant, memorable, and meaningful, and not the exceptional cover.

Beauty comes from significant events, such as the birth of a baby. Ask any parent, and they would reply that the birth of their child is an unforgettable event for them. The parents would eagerly wait for the head to come out, then gasp as the baby starts to wiggle and cry out loud. Although the infant would be covered in blood, almost all parents would agree that the sight of their newborn is the most breathtaking sight that they have ever witnessed. Some may argue that beauty has to be from an exceptional event for it to have a lasting impact. However, true beauty is in the normal things that leave a permanent impression.

True beauty also stems from memorable events in life. Audiences of the mokumentary The Office often discuss the proposal of Jim and Pam, which occured on a rainy day in front of a convenience store. Jim did not bring a bouquet of flowers nor did he lavish his fiancee with gifts and praises. He simply kneeled to one knee and professed his love. Many people imagine their proposals to be held at exceptional locations, such as in front of the Effiel Tower or on a beautiful Caribbean beach. However, the memorable events are the ones that are genuine, the location is simply a location.

Finally, true beauty comes from the meaningful things. Sports fans often praise an athlete for winning a race. However, when Lightning McQueen in the movie Cars willinging gave up his opportunity to win the Piston Cup, he received more admiration because he valued the dignity of a fellow racer more than the right to brag as a winner. Spectators lauded hum for his actions, not his achievements. Unfortunately, some people focus so much on becoming the winner or champion that they lose focus on the meaningful things in life.

Social media is full of people posting selfies and images of extraordinary landmarks and icons. These images are impressive, but behind their grand facade is a lack of significance, memory, and meaning. People might take these photos, but forget them the next day, or these photos could be swamped by more similar photos. True beauty, however, is found in the commonplace instead of the exceptional because it leaves a perpetual mark.

In conclusion, the beauty found in the exceptional are fleeting becuase they might appear stunning, but they are often ephemeral and quickly lost in memory. Significant, memorable, or meaningful events, however, are often crucial and true beauty is found in them despite their rudimentary outlook.