The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of Juniper Cafe argued that reducing the hours of operations of the shop could save money, thereby avoiding the need to cut jobs. However, this argument is flawed for three reasons. First of all, the shop might actually be making money instead of losing money in the morning. Secondly, money can be saved by other means instead of reducing the hours of operations. Finally, closing the shop in the morning might only save a marginal amount of money, an amount that does not justify the claim that reduced hours of operations can prevent job cuts.

Juniper Cafe is a coffee shop, which implies that customers are likely to go there for coffee. Conventional thinking tells us that most patrons of a coffee shop buy coffee in the morning before they go to work. Therefore, there is a possibility that Juniper Cafe is crowded in the morning and the majority of the daily revenue is generated in the morning. If the shop owner foolishly decides to rest during this time, the shop would lost its optimal opportunity to make money. Unless the owner can provide data of the revenue by hour and prove with evidence that Juniper Cafe has no income or a low income in the morning, Juniper Cafe should probably still open at 6 a.m.

Although the owner wants to reduce expenditure, closing Juniper Cafe in the morning may not be the optimal method to reduce costs. For example, suppose that Juniper Cafe sells five types of coffee, but customers never buy a certain type of coffee and the excessive coffee beans are always disposed as waste. The owner of Juniper Cafe could optimize his or her operations and reduce costs by terminating the sale of this type of coffee, thereby saving the cost required to purchase the coffee beans and the additional cleaning fee required to dispose the beans that were not sold. The owner claimed that closing the shop in the morning is the best strategy to save money, but more evidence are required to support this claim.

Finally, closing the shop in the morning might only save a small amount of money. For example, the rent of the shop might account for over 60% of the total cost, whereas other miscellaneous items such as utilities and employee wages only account for 5% of the total cost. If the bulk of the total cost was the rent and the owner had to pay it regardless of the hours of operations, the owner is likely to save more money by simply moving to a location with a cheaper rent instead of closing the shop in the morning. The owner can provide data of the operating costs of the shop, and if most of the costs are spent in the morning hours and they can be saved by closing the shop in the morning, then the claims of the owner would be more persuasive.

In conclusion, the owner does not provide a cogent statement because the owner has not provided evidence indicating that in the monring, little revenue is generated and large expenditure is paid. In addition, the owner does not offer data that demonstrate that closing Juniper Cafe in the morning is the best method to save costs. If the owner can prove that in the morning, his or her store is simply losing money and not making any income at all, then his or her argument would be more convincing.