The commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in Freedonian society: incomes are rising; most employees now receive more vacation time; and interest in travel is rising, as shown by an increase in media attention devoted to foreign cultures and tourist attractions.

The author argued that a higher income, more vacation time, and a rising interest in travel will contribute to the continual growth of the commercial airline industry in Freedonia. However, the arguments of the author implied that people will spend their extra salary on travel and people will choose to travel by air during their vacation time. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the assertations of the author are fundamentally flawed.

The author assumed that people with more money will spend it on travel, particularly air travel. In reality, people could be using their money for all sorts of purposes. Struggling families that are trying to make ends meet are more likely to use the extra income to buy food and necessities than needlessly wasting it on air travel. The author must prove that people will spend their extra income on air travel before the author’s argument becomes valid.

The author believed that employees with more vacation time will benefit the commercial airline industry of Freedonia. However, this claim is irrational because the author is hinting that people will spend their extra vacation time on air travel. In reality, people spend their time on different types of leisure activities. For example, thrifty shoppers might spend their holidays by visiting department stores and scouting for bargains. These people are likely to spend their extra time wandering in shops than flying in cramped seats. The author must provide evidence demonstrating that people spend their extra vacation time on air travel to argue that more vacation time will benefit the commercial airline industry in Freedonia.

Although the author stated that a rising interest in travel will benefit the commercial airline industry of Freedonia, the author does not specify the form of transportation in Freedonia. Suppose, for example, that Freedonia is a landlocked country with convenient railway systems. Travelers might choose to enjoy a trip on the rail instead of flying in a plane. Travelers with budget restraints could also opt for the cheaper option and drive instead of fly. If the author could demonstrate that people prefer air travel over other forms of transportation, the author can logically claim that more travelers and a higher interest in travel will benefit the airline industry.

In conclusion, the author has listed three factors, namely a higher income, more vacation time, and a rising interest in travel, and claimed that they are related to the growth of the commercial airline industry; however, the author has not proved that these factors are related to a higher demand for air travel. Although the people of Freedonia are receiving a higher salary and more vacation time and they are having a higher interest in travel, neither of these factors signify that people will have a higher demand for air travel. The author must provide evidence that reveal the correlation between the three factors and the demand for air travel to reinforce the argument that these factors contribute to the future growth of the commerical airline industry in Freedonia.