Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7 000 years ago and within 3 000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species extinctions becau

The argument is flawed for some numerous reasons.Primarily the argument is based on some unwarranted assumption that bones of large mammals where not found on the isalnd, rendering to its main conclusion that humans humans cannot have been a factor in the species’ extinctions.However, the argument is not accepted as it fails to answer some critical questions that can be challenging in one way or another ; moreover the conclusion dismisses some assumption which are important to draw an accurate conclusion.

First of all, the argument didn’t provide proper justification that humans might not have killed the mammals.Tha major assumption is that since the bones where not found, so hence humans might not have killed the mammals.May be humans, have thrown away the bones of the mammals into the sea.Due to some heavy tides, the bones might have moved from far distance from island where even archaelogists, cannot find it or since the density of the large mammal will be more bones might have submerged into the sea.

Second , the argument didn’t provide proper justification about what kind off climatic changes killed the mammals.If the climatic change is like increase in temparture which killed the mammals, they can still find the bones in the ground of island.Had the argument provided information about climatic changes.Even then , the argument need to provide information like how would the bones differ from the one eaten by humans and got buried due to death of the mammals and also how did the climatic changes effected large mammals but not fishes.

Third , the argument didn’t provide any information about the hunting techniques used by humans.May be, humans might have killed the mammals and used those bones as weapons to kill another mammals.

In Conclusion , the argument , as it stands now , is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above two questions and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ) , then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the statement that humans cannot have been a factor in species’ extinction.