Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on some unwarranted assumption that telecasting the local news and weather report will bring back the profits, rendering to its main conclusion is to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level; However the , argument is not accepted as it fails to answer some of the critical questions , that can be challenging in one way or another ; moreover the conclusion is dismisses some assumptions which are important to draw an accurate conclusion.

First of all , the argument did not provide any information saying that viewers are ready to watch back their program. May be viewers are attracted to some other programs. If this is the case, then viewers might be still in a dilema that this station(which author is talking about) is still telecasting the same national news every night. Argument also need to provide evidence on how , telecasting the local news and weather, will bring back the profits. As said , the viewers might be addicted to some other station or the local business people might have made an agreement with other station's on publishing their advertisements and this station might be the present station which more of their local viewers are watching it.

Second, the author also has not discussed about any other plan , to bring back the lost profits rather than saying that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will bring back the profits. As if , this was the only plan that can bring back the profits. The station people could have talked to some other national brands and make an agreement with , them and telecast the national brands, as this will promote the national brands in local areas also. As these brand companies will have higher revenue so they can pay , more amount than what these local business people are paying to the station.

In Conclusion , the argument , as it stands now , is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above two questions and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of an systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.