An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces A study reports that in nearby East Meria where fish consumption is very high people visit the doctor only once or twice per

The memo in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council, it states that, the daily use of a nutritive supplement obtain from fish oil plays a vital role to prevent colds and lower absenteeism in West Meria’s School and Workplace. The author came in to this conclusion based on the clue about East Meria, where, due to high level of fish consumption, frequency of doctor visit is sparse like only one or twice per year for treatment of colds. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

At first, Is the health of the people of East Meria directly related to the fish consumption and its frequency? The author of the argument claim that people visit the doctor only once or twice in a year for the treatment of colds due to high level of fish consumption by the people of East Meria. Perhaps, this is not a case of improving health issue. It is possible that the people of East Meria are more aware in their health. For example, they might be bathing regularly, washing their hand regularly after and before lunch or dinner, may be cover their mouth by mask while during the period of social activities. They might be vaccinated for every disease. It may be possible that the cost of health care in East Meria is affordable than other. If either of these scenario hold water, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly undermined. Therefore, the author must provide the piece of evidence required as expounded above to solidify the argument.

Secondly, Are East Meria and West Meria comparable? It is possible that, the attendance level in West Meria may be influenced by some other factor as comparable to East Meria like public transportation facilities, level of standard of East Meria and West Meria. It may be possible that most of the people in West Meria work in the field for agriculture rather than other works. And one more thing that in East Meria, they use fish not the fish oil so fish and fish oil are to different things. Fish oil is the combination of fish and other ingredients while fish is just fish. So, if the above scenario is true, then the argument is considerably weakened.

Lastly, Is study report valid? Perhaps, survey data is not evenly taken. It may be possible that a few numbers of data may be taken and based on that data the report may create. It may possible that small number of people only consume a lot of fish and fortunately the data may take from these people. It is also possible that the study report may be too old like more than 10 years old, who knows? Currently, the level of attendance at East Meria might be decrease than previous years. Similarly, the author only claims about colds, that means, it may be during winter season, what about summer season? The author's claims are severely undermined if any of the above possibilities come to pass. As a result, in order to adequately support their argument, the author must present the previously specified piece of evidence.

In Conclusion, In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation the proposal that the daily use of a nutritive supplement obtain from fish oil plays a vital role to prevent colds and lower absenteeism in West Meria’s School and Workplace