An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The recommendation contains a lot of vague terms that need to be addressed. On the major side, it fails to address both the validity of millet consisting high degree of Vitamin and farmers ability to use it.

The recommendation on the first hand should is doubtful on the ground of validity that millet is not Vitamin A deficient. What was the engineering process used to prove that millet contains high degree of vitamin A? Has that engineering been cross checked by other organizations to prove its fidelity? Even this hypothesis is assumed to be true, has it been proved by using millet in fields that have conditions equivalent to the conditions in Tagus fields? If millet has proved to be efficient in fields that does not resemble that of Tagus's fields, so it is worthless to use, because environmental conditions play vital role in use of any seed. However, if the millet proves to be valid in all of above scenarios then there are other considerations that come into play.

Considering the assumption as true that millet contains high degree of Vitamin A and it can combat the deficiency faced in Tagus then there comes the cost factor that needs to be addressed. The recommendation suggests that there is more cost in use millet but how much more cost is it? Even after paying subsidies, will the farmers be able to pay the remaining cost? Or will they be willing in paying such cost? Undoubtedly, if the farmers will not be able to pay amount for such seed or cannot produce the yield that they expect, it will be a huge burden for them to introduce such seed. However, if the cost comes to be very less then it government should be involved in introducing millet into the country.

Is it just fine to see the positive side of using any seed? Definitely not. In this world, everything has pros and cons. The recommendation does not address any side effects related to using millet. If using that seed proves to be life threatening for farmers then definitely it should be avoided. Even if not life threatening their may be other factors that prove their disadvantages and such factors if outweigh the advantage of single advantage of combating Vitamin A then it is again worthless to use it. Therefore, it is necessary to be addressed the disadvantages of using millet as well.

From the scenarios, we can conclude that it is necessary to evaluate the validity of millet, the ability of farmers to afford it and side effects of using it. If the response to all of these questions is positive, only then the government of Tagus should invest in promoting millet into the country.