Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue that the children from the age 2-5 should be kept away from television advertisements is really a complex one. Nowadays children spend most of their time watching television during which they see a lot of advertisements. These advertisements can have adverse effects on children’s behavior which I will elaborate in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, most of the advertisements shown on the television nowadays are related to the console games which mostly targets the age group of 2-5. Due to this reason, children repeatedly insist their parents to buy games for them whereas they should have been invested their time in doing something productive. Playing console games all the time in a very early age makes them addictive of them. Consequently, the children will become stubborn if they don’t get what the television advertisements hammer their mind all the time. According to the recent research conducted by the Neilson Limited, television advertisements related to video games targeting age 2-5 have resulted 20% increase in the number of children being admitted to the rehabilitation center this year. This shows my inclination why the children from the age group 2-5 shouldn’t be exposed to television advertisements.

Secondly television advertisements these days have resulted in making children more materialistic. For instance, television advertisements of electronic gadgets by many companies has created a lot of problems for the parents. This is due to the reason, the children watching the advertisements believe that the thing he sees on the ads are more perfect than the ones he hasn’t seen on the television. Their continuous involvement in these type of activities at an early stage compromises their learning stage where they could have been taught something related to brain building. This elucidates my concrete stand against the television ads shown to young children.

What is half full to some people can be considered as half empty by other people. There are some certain advertisements shown on the television regarding the summer camps which inspire children to get involved in healthy activities. For instance, during summers thousands of summer camp ads are run on the television showing children playing and learning new and productive things.

As far I am concerned, my point of view is that there should be a central authority which should monitor which types of ads should be shown to the 2-5 age group children and which ones should not be, so that we can save our young generation from getting spoiled.