Invest in unmanned space exploration.

There are three assumptions which need addressing, first is the information acquired from unmanned space crafts more than manned crafts? Second, does the study compare manned and unmanned explorations on the same basis? Third, will investment in umanned space flight result in more information than every other possible method?

The argument mentions that 'a great deal of useful information' can be gathered, however for the argument to be valid this amount should be at least as much as that acquired through manned explorations, if information acquisition is to be one of the primary deciding factor along with risk and costs. It could be the case that manned exploration produce more relavent information though the quantity of data could be less than an unmanned exploration. Building on this argument even if a great deal of information is acquired but it is of no use then it would be a waste of resources and money to invest in unmanned space flights.

Though it is mentioned that there has been a series of success in unmanned space probes, the kind and depth of these explorations is not mentioned. For example it is true that unmanned trip to Mars will provide us information about the chemical compostion of atmosphere and soil, but in case of an open ended problem like exploration of uncharted regions, if possible, an unmanned craft could not be improvied on go to deliver imperative imformation. In such cases since the outcomes cannot be predicted the craft cannot be preprogrammed, deducing from this fact if such a craft is sent on mission it might get destroyed before sending any important information. On the hand if a manned craft is programmed primarily for safety and the infromation gathering part is left to humans, risk can be minimised and information acquisition increased. Thus depending on the intended objective and design manned and unmanned explorations should be compared differently, otherwise it might be the case that author is comparing apples and oranges to draw their conclusion. I this case again the investment could be a waste of resources.

To determine with certainty that investment in unmanned space flight should be made it should first be determined that the net benefits is greater than net costs of unmanned exploration is better than every other possible means. In case it is found that it is indeed the case then it would be wise to invest in unmanned exploration, if not the author's conlusion cannot be made with certainty and thus can be negated.

Based on the above arguments the author's assumptions could prove to be unwarranted, and thus a in depth analysis of these assumptions based on at least the mentioned instances should be undertaken, otherwise the proposal will have little chance of acceptance.