A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I refute the concept of a national level curriculum at the pre-college level, primarily on three grounds. First, a national level curriculum by the virtue of being a national level entity becomes too rigid and in its attempts to be exhaustive ceases to be useful. Second, it limits the scope of ambition of the students. And thirdly, the condition of the students who are left behind becomes dire.

A national level curriculum at school level would induce apathy if not antipathy for education the students receive since the curriculum would cover a range of topics including or maybe excluding the topic of their interest. It is by its nature required to cover the basics of most of the primary level education covering a and thus should be such that it caters to the nationwide student body. This implies that in a country which is as large and diverse as the Amazon forests and similar to the forest bears distinct and unique organisms if it one day decides to teach all its animals the same curriculum we would have fishes climbing trees and monkeys learning to fly. At the national level, the correlation might not be as evident if the number of affected students is small, imagine now that the same happens to the majority. If there comes a time that the correlation is visible, it would already be too late. In terms of economic factors, this will be apparent by the declining employment rate.

Furthermore, given the rigid structure of the national level curriculum students are left with very few options when considering their interests. To elaborate the point, a student who has been exposed to the subjects limited to mathematics, sciences and arts will be disposed to think that she or he is supposed to like one of the above subjects only, thereby not only will their education be limited the scope of their ambition will also be limited.

Also, consider the student who cannot fit in with the national level curriculum, it will in her or his formative year learn to associate herself or himself with diffidence and a feeling of inferiority. Students in school are in the early formative years of their life. This age is a very impressional time for them, the vices they learn at this stage would likely stay with them perpetually. The above two points illustrate the importance of individual-level cognitive grooming, rather than brute force "studying".

With the recent development of cognitive science in the education sector, new innovative methodologies of teaching at the student level are emerging. The new world education ensures that no student is left out and that they learn at their own pace. Given the emergence and slowly establishing the dominance of education at the individual level, it becomes evident that a common gross level curriculum cannot sustain itself for long.

Despite its shortcomings, a national level curriculum facilitates many other nuances. Having travelled a lot in my school days, I had come to appreciate the national curriculum since otherwise each transfer would have meant starting the complete "learning" process all over. Also, it gives a common platform to the students of different states to interact. Nevertheless, its disadvantages far exceed its transitory advantages.