Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs only apartment buildings that is buildings without elevators live an average of three years longer than do people who

While it might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the author's explanation that physical activity demanded of the residents of stairs-only apartments cause increased health and longevity, his argument does not make a cogent case. The author's reasoning to arrive at the conclusion from the results of few surveys stating the correlation between people living in stairs-only apartments and increased health benefits, may have sounded rational and probable but there are latent factors that the author should have considered before. Moreover, he need to address few questions posed by the below alternative explanations to make his argument convincing.

First of all, the author deduces his explanation partly from the recent studies that purportedly showed a link between health and stairs usage. One such study that author mentioned shows a 3-year longer average lifespan of residents who live in stairs-only apartments. In reality, the mere correlation between using stairs and having longer lifespan does not help in answering if one of it causes the other. It could be possible that, people who live in stair-only apartment, on an average, earn less money that the others, and thus not able to spend money on rich and unhealthy foods. Thus having better health than higher earning people who usually can also afford to live in rich apartments where they can avail elevator benefits.

Moreover, the author further cites a study which shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevator visits doctor, on average, twice as many times as the residents of stairs-only buildings do. The author needs to know that the financial difference between these two types of residents could be a reason causing the high salaried ones to afford visiting the doctors more times than the other. Also, there can be other factors like, the buildings with elevators are mostly in middle of city where there is more air and sound pollution necessitating their dwellers to visit the doctors more often. This possibility of having other factors that causes the difference in lifespan among the two types of residents seriously undermines the authors argument

Finally, the author also based his conclusion on the doctor's survey reports, where the residents of stairs-only apartment scored higher in health related questionnaire than the residents of buildings equipped with elevators. There was not much information provided about the reports, like how many residents of either types had been investigated or any other details of the purpose of the reports. It could be possible that the report covered only handful of residents whose rating does not really scale to all the residents. If above is the case, the reports were of doubtful value in understanding the relation between stairs usage and health benefits, and so the author's argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, there are many rivaling explanations that can answer the above correlation from the presented facts. Unless the author substantiates his reasoning ruling out the aforementioned alternatives, his argument remains unconvincing.