"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. While at first glance the argument appears to be cogent, but if not sustained with more information, would significantly weaken the idea. The argument assumes that both the cities of belleville and amburg are the same and concludes that amburg will follow the same success as belleville which is invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the two cities are similar in terms of population and crime rate. it can be possible that most of the crimes committed in belleville are during the night times so installing high-intensity lighting could have helped bring down the vandalism. but what if the vandalism in amburg is mostly linked with the crimes which are committed during the day. For example, vandalism cases in belleville could be related to graffiti where vandalism in amburg can be related to violent protests. then high-intensity lighting throughout amburg would not be an effective way to combat crime. Had the argument provided the similarity between the vandalism acts of both the cities then the argument could be cogent enough.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. The argument states that the measure taken to reduce the crime in the central business district of a city will suffice to reduce the crime rate of the business district of an entirely different city. The businesses in the central business district of belleville can be very different from that of the businesses done by the people of amburg at the business district. Nonetheless, the argument assumes that both central business districts and business districts are targeted by the vandalism acts at the same level. To strengthen the argument the author must provide the similarities between these businesses and should also provide more insight into the vandalism acts where are committed.

The argument also claims without warrant that what holds good last October will definitely hold good today. so even if we assume the cities, belleville and amburg are similar in the aspects of population, business, and vandalism act, the argument is still lacking cause it doesn't provide information to show that the vandals haven't figured out a way around the changes implemented to curb the crime rate.

In conclusion, it is possible that installing high-intensity lighting can aid in reducing the crime rate in the city of amburg. However, it is impossible to agree with the argument without concrete evidence. The argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the city of amburg will mirror the reduction in the crime rate of belleville