"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The author of this above letter clearly believes that we should invest our resources in manufacturing and sending unmanned probes and satellites into space instead of investing in manned satellites. He attributes this to the risks and cost involved in sending humans to outer space. He puts forth a valid point stating that the loss of valuable human resource is one that is not encouraged. However, in order to support his stand he makes certain invalid assumptions such as the successful unmanned projects and the reduction in cost for the same. This remains unwarranted as he fails to discuss the failure, if any and the significant advantages that unmanned space flights have over manned ones. To be able to state that more useful information is indeed obtained from machines, he has to provide us with more facts and examples. Thus he lacks support in his argument for the above mentioned reasons.

Firstly, although his statement that manned satellites are riskier as it concerns human life is compelling evidence for replacement by unmanned probes, it however precludes the exact danger that space travels poses for astronauts. More facts about how exactly astronauts face danger in space needs to be given, only with which a proper conclusion can be reached. Perhaps, if more research had been done by the author into how exactly lives are lost in space and the number of lives lost, then a proper consensus can be reached. The author is too vague about the comparisons between manned and unmanned travel.

Secondly, his insistence on the fact that machines will be able to get more useful information is unwarranted. There is only so much that a machine can be programmed to do without regular human intervention. Bots can perform meticulous experimental calculations much more efficiently than a human. But to be able to adapt to the ever-changing circumstances in outer space, the knowledge and spontaneity of a human is of much importance. If he had included sufficient proof regarding the superiority of information collected by machines compared to that of a human, he would have presented a better argument.

Thirdly, it is a wide known fact that space travel costs a lot to the nation conducting it. Whether there is a significant difference in the cost of sending just probes or probes with men in them, is not given exclusively. It is possible that the cost of sending humans and supplies in the satellites is almost equal to not sending them or is an insignificant addition to that of unmanned travel. It is also quite possible that the wealth of data that a human could extract from his travel much exceeds the cost that the trip would incur by sending humans.

One cannot however forget the matter that human life and the contribution that one makes in his lifetime is invaluable. If the author were to make a gripping argument, laying down figures concerning loss of human life in space travel then the solution could have been accepted. But the paucity of such figures, places doubt on the integrity of the solution. The main aim of travelling to space is to come across planets that have chances of supporting human life. Our planet as we know it is in a constant state of deterioration and to expedite this process of discovery, it is highly valuable if humans were to accompany bots on these missions.

Though the author desires for a change in allocating revenue, he fails to make a riveting case by not giving sufficient evidence to support his stand. In conclusion, the author failed in creating a solid case which demonstrates that unmanned flights are cost-effective, risk less and more capable of extracting information than manned flights.