A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author's claim that a nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college is, I believe is a compelling argument. This however, does not mean that the students should be forced to study something that does not aid in them achieving their dreams. In making the curriculum uniform, the nation must provide the students with options to choose among subjects that they are interested in pursuing.

Firstly, there are extensive procedures that colleges must follow when keeping in mind the admission process. They monitor various aspects of the students' efficiency. By making the curriculum uniform throughout the nation, the colleges can judge the students equally and not make unfair exceptions for students coming from either a tough background or a comparatively easier one.

Secondly, it makes comparison between any two potential candidates easier because they have been educated in an equal capacity. Take for example, the case in India wherein the IITJEE is one of the toughest exams to clear to get admission into the premier Indian Institute of Technology. A common problem that the country faces is that the students who are taught under a specific type of curriculum such as CBSE outperform those that enroll themselves in stateboard curriculums. As a result, a huge percentage of the candidates vying for a seat in the IIT's lose out on their chances. It deprives them of getting high quality education in a premier institute.

Thirdly, by following a national curriculum from the first grade, we can ensure that the students are almost equal in a mental capacity. An issue that the nation should try to solve when adopting such a drastic change, is that they must not compromise on the difficulty level of the curriculum. It is inevitable that students come from different backgrounds and are to an extent incapable of surviving in a competitive environment. To accomodate this, the nation should take steps to make sure that these students do not drop out of schools. Free compensations or tuitions must be organized by the school members to let these students catch up.

Unless the nation follows through with efficient measures to make sure that people from rural areas do not drop out of schools stating a hard curriculum as a reason, this approach will fail. Countries like China and Japan follow a uniform curriculum and have observed major strides in the education field. It allows for a normalized approach to college admission. Keeping in mind the various fields that students are allowed to choose, the government should come up with a mulitude of options that the students can choose from in high schol. A student aiming to become a doctor must choose the curriculum aiding him/her in suceeding in the medical field. The same must apply for say, a student aiming to pursue law, engineering etc.

In conclusion, though I strongly believe that a uniform curriculum will help promote high quality education by equalizing the intake of information and the level of problem solving seen in students, the nation is also responsible in ensuring that the students from rural or poor backgrounds do not back out of getting education because of not being able to cope up with other bright students.