"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

By not telecasting weather and local news, it is understandable that the television station lost some of its viewers. As a matter of fact, people will definitely be more interested in watching news channels that provide local news which is more relevant to their current situation. The station did receive complaints regarding it's decrease in coverage of weather and local news, clearly indicating people's interest in the same. However, the author makes an unsubstantiated assumption that the station will receive more viewers should it telecast weather and local news.

Firstly, no information regarding the popularity or content of their national news is given. It could be quite possible that the news channel telecasts news that often have a negative tone to them or depict the more gory details of everyday occurences. Depicting violent crimes in late-night news that people watch just before going to sleep can disturb them and this in turn can lead to the decrease in viewership. The author is correct in the aspect that people expect to see weather and local news the day before in order to prepare themselves for the upcoming twenty-four hours.

Secondly, more insight into local businesses who have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station must be given. The businesses could have backed out in order to advertise their products in another news channel that has garnered more attention and viewership over the past year. Figures regarding the new and upcoming news channels and their reach within the population should have been provided. Attributing the loss of advertisements to the less coverage to weather and local news is unwarranted.

Thirdly, no information about the popularity of the channel before one year has been given. It is not exclusively stated that the channel lost it's viewers due to the increased attention to national news. Although complaints have been received regarding the decrrease in time allocated, whether people have indeed migrated to other news stations is not given. In this scenario, the conclusion that more viewers are guarenteed should the company restore their weather and local news divisions is not one that can be validated. Figures about the viewership level and the percent decrease over the past year could have helped the author make a compelling case about the channel.

It is possible that people might find weather and local news more relevant. But it is also possible that none of this could make a difference until the station changes it's national news content that people might view as unnecessary for a late night trip to the tv room. For example, a person planning on a trip to the beach might want to know the weather forecast for the next day. Or a person working in a company might want to know about the strike in his city. Telecasting the arrest of a politician in the capital city as part of the late night news will do no good to a common man.

In conclusion, the author failed in creating a solid case regarding the assured increase in viewers or the return of the local business advertisements to the channel. More substantiations and figures could have been provided.