Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Human history has come across many scandals in various fields such as scandals by powerful politicians or very famous personalities in sports or in the entertainment industry. The claim that scandals are useful in focussing our attention on problems is very true.

Firstly, we live in a society that is hugely crowded with people of various intentions, characteristics and ideals. Many people believe that they live in an ideal world where everything is perfect. This is hardly the case in today's world. Although we have speakers, reformers and people in high positions warning the general population about the dangers in the world, it is hard for us to believe that out world in general is not perfect unless we experience it. Scandals in a way expose this truth by giving them a living example of the cruelty in the world.

Secondly, talking about the problems can in no way make a common man understand the severity of it actually becoming true. Neither does it reach a large section of the population. By exposing scandals people are brought face-to-face with the problems and are forced to face it. They are pushed into the harsh reality of what our world has become and the type of people co-existing with them. They are now made to question each and every motive and thus know the problems that they might have to face. This allows them to be ready to face any problem thrown at them by this society.

It is true that exposing people to these harsh problems can make them not trusting and cynical in general. It makes them aware of the ugly side of this world and this can make people be cruel. But this alternative is far better than people not learning about the dangers only to be made to come in contact with them in the future and not expect such a turn of events. Our society is not perfect and it is high time we learn to cope with it.

A perfect example of a scandal that recently took place is women coming forward to support one another in the #metoo campaign. It is a known fact that almost every woman in this huge society has experienced gender discrimination or sexual harrasment at one point in their lives. But unless a few brave women come forward recounting some of their actual experiences and henceforth exposing the men accountable, it becomes hard for the people around the world to actually understand the extent of this horrible reality. Now people are made to face this harsh truth and actually see living, breathing victims of this problem. This understanding could have not been brought to the fore by speakers and gender activists campaigning about it.

Scandals can expose the ugly side of the world but it also allows people to adapt to this society in a way that would not have happened by mere talk. This allows people to acknowledge the not so perfect world they live in and be successful because they now know the dangers that they will face in each step of their life.