Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that routine administrations of inoculations against cow flu cannot be permitted because there is a small chance that a person can die due to the inoculations, despite the fact that inoculations in areas where the disease has been detected would "save many". It is not immediately possible to evaluate the verity of this argument because there is a significant amount of evidence that is not provided.

The first concerning claim is the small possibility a person will die as a result of the inoculations. The argument never mentions how "small" this number is. Is it one in a ten, one in a trillion, or somewhere in between? Clearly, the number of people who will be affected by the inoculation will make a great difference - the larger the number of deaths in a given population, the more the argument will be strengthened.

Additionally, the argument never elaborates on the kind of people who are dying. Are all the people who die those with already poor immune systems, such as people with HIV? In any situation where it is easy to isolate the groups who could suffer from the vaccine, and simply vaccinate everyone else, the deaths due to inoculation would reduce and those without inoculation would also be significantly safer due to herd immunity, weakening the argument.

The nature of the deaths due to inoculation is also never mentioned. Is it possible that some of the inoculations were contaminated in the study, and those were the ones that caused deaths? Is it due to a treatable cold or fever that results from the inoculation, but insufficient care was provided to those getting the inoculation? Is it some kind of momentary dizziness that caused accidents? If any of these are the case, it severely weakens the presented argument because it would be much simpler to address these concerns while administering the inoculations than to forgo the regular administration of inoculations.

One point of evidence that could also influence the validity of the argument is how "many lives" are at stake if the inoculations are not administered. If the disease is particularly virile and spreads fast, or kills quickly and with few symptoms, then removing the inoculation would mean significantly more deaths. For example, when the black plague was spreading across Europe, they were only able to save themselves by burning down entire houses with families inside if any member showed the slightest symptom. That was not the humane method, but may have been the only option to ensure that anyone survived. Similarly, in this case it is important to evaluate how this disease would proliferate. If the situation is that the disease causes visible symptoms much before the patient becomes infectious, or treatment for the disease is cheap, easy, and successful, then the argument is greatly strengthened.

Evaluating the argument would also require knowledge of how widespread the disease already is. Imagine there is only 4 cases so far in one town of 100 people that are well connected inside their country of one billion. And suppose the disease kills 25% of those infected, every infected person infects 10 others, and the inoculation kills even 50% of those infected (a rather unreasonably high number). The it is obvious to see that inoculating the town of 100 would leave around 49 alive, but not inoculating them would risk the death of up to 25 million. In that case inoculation is the clear answer.

However, if the disease has already spread throughout the country and all of the 1 billion people in the population would need to be inoculated. That would kill 50 million, as opposed to the 25 million from the disease, making inoculation the wrong answer.

Therefore, knowledge of the statistics of death rates due to disease and inoculation, the kinds of deaths and isolation of population groups from the disease and inoculation, the region the disease is spreading in and the likelihood it will affect other areas if unchecked, are all crucial pieced of evidence that are necessary to thoroughly evaluate the argument that routinely administered inoculations should not be taken up in areas where the cow flu is detected, even though inoculations will save lives, simply because the inoculations do carry a small possibility of death.