In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the city’s government should increase the money budgeted for riverside recreational activities is based on the logic that the starting a river clean up will, within the year, result in a significant number of the residents wanting to participate in such activities.

The first unstated assumption this argument makes is that if the river is clean, it will be able to support the popular water sports – swimming, boating, and fishing. Firstly, for all of these water sports, this assumes that the river is free of dangerous animals like crocodiles. In particular, for swimming it assumes the river is relatively calm and free of dangerous currents, for boating it has sufficient depth, and for fishing there is a healthy, sustained fish population that was largely unaffected by the pollution in the river.

If this assumption is false, and the cleaner river will not be able to support the desired water sports, any money channelled into the riverside recreational facilities will be wasted on other activities the populace may not be interested in.

Another important assumption is that one year is sufficient time for the clean up to complete and the riverside recreational facilities to become operational. If the clean up takes longer, the facilities will be left unattended and thus it is important that the facilities must be funded so that they do not lay in disuse, which would be a waste since it would take time off the total span of operations the facilities can get before they will need to be updated again.

Yet another assumption is the that the survey results are representative of the time and ability of the residents to participate in the recreational activities. It is possible, based on the selected sample, that the people surveyed do not represent the majority of the populace. Furthermore, even if they are, the residents may enjoy the activity but may not have the time, money, or ability to participate in them on a regular basis. Thus, the updated recreational facilities may not get the level of use this argument suggests.

Therefore, the argument for increasing the city’s budget for the riverside recreational activities in light of the river clean up makes three major assumptions, and if any of those do not pan out, re-budgeting would lead to an inefficient use of the city’s budget.