As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does reliance of technology equal an inability to think for yourself? I believe that this depends on the context in which technology is being employed.

In areas like politics, where people’s votes can be decided by the contents of their Facebook feed, reliance on technology may very well mean we fail to think for ourselves if we don’t employ the requisite scepticism. On social media, you can always find your niche of people with similar views. Thus, relying on technology to make medical or social decisions can lead people to make dubious ones – just look at the resurgence of “flat-earthers”, people who are convinced the earth is flat, or “anti-vaxxers”, people who believe vaccines are bad and cause autism. Reliance on technology to solve these types of issues is definitely akin to putting blinders on your eyes, and serious limits your ability to think independently.

Also, recent studies have shown that there is one major problem for which our reliance on technology is extremely detrimental – boredom. Humans look for constant stimulation, especially in childhood, and with technology at our hands we can almost eliminate boredom. But if a young child is never bored, they never get the opportunity or motivation to invent their own entertainment, be it imaginary friends or games. This is greatly detrimental to the development of their imagination, and is projected to have a major impact on areas such as arts.

However, looking at the claim from the viewpoint of STEM research, one has to disagree with the statement. In those cases, people’s reliance on technology to solve problems does not mean the stop thinking, but rather that the nature of their thought changes. A theoretical physicist can now create computer models to obtain their results, rather than pages and pages of similar calculations that they will be forced to triple check. In that case, the mathematical drudgery of repetitive calculations is removed, but the researcher engages in more thought concerning constructing the model, coding it, and evaluating its results.

Lastly, consider the areas in which relying on technology can actually teach humans to think down new avenues. Learning new information, a new language, or a new skill has never been more accessible and is often only one google search or an app download away. All of these encourage new kinds of independent thought and provide a wider perspective than the individual could have gained before technology, especially for those with limited resources.

Therefore, whether people’s increasing reliance on technology to solve their problems impairs their ability to think for themselves is dependent on what context it is being used in. In this essay, some ways in which social media and gaming apps can be detrimental to thought while computer modelling and easy information access can be beneficial are explored to show that a blanket statement is insufficient to explore the complex impact technology has on our lives.