The market for the luxury-goods industry i s on the decline. Recent reports

show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has

decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both

essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items.

Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential , this market will be the

first to decrease i n the present economic cl i mate, and luxury retailers

should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The argument that recent reports show a higher unemployment rate, coupled with customers fear, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items is not logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that luxury retailers might not have customers again due to the present economic breakdown, whereas there is nothing to show whether this is true.

Second, the argument never addresses the fact that the unemployment will not affect all the customers and will also be temporary as some customers will still continue to purchase luxury goods.

Finally, the argument omits the fact that some of the customers might be self-employed and thus will not be affected by the unemployment that hits the society.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. the evidence in support of the conclusion that higher unemployment rate coupled with customers fear will decreased the amount of money spent on both essential and nonessential items is not sufficient because it does not addresses the assumption raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if the author could prove that present economic condition will affect the self- employed or the entire population.