The following is a memorandum from business manager of television station.

" Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us, Therefore, in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level".

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen this argument.

The argument that in order to attract more viewers to the late-night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, the TV station should devote more time to weather and local news rather than national news is not entirely convincing since it ignores some certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that unless by devoting more time to weather and local news, people might not view their program, he also assumes that the local businesses that advertise during the program canceled their contract due to lack of many viewers. Also he assumed that that complaints made by viewers were as a result of not devoting time to weather and local news. Yet, the author provided no proof to show that these assumptions are possible.

Second, the argument never address the time this program was aired. For instance, since the news is a late-night program and maybe it is delivered by 10:00 PM, there is possibility that there will be fewer viewers to watch this news since it is likely that a larger part of the population would have gone to work during the day period and might want to rest as early as possible 9:00 PM or 9:30 PM in preparation for the next working day. Probably if the new was not a late-night program, it might get more viewers than what it is having now. So it is possible that even if the news program is devoted more time than weather and local news, it might still be getting fewer views. The author did not also consider the type of viewers that watch this particular TV station. The viewers could vary, ranging from children to adult. For instance, if the large populations of the viewers are teenagers who likes football or prefer to watch music videos, perhaps the time of this event or show coincides with the time of the news program? This questions are not addressed by the author before making his conclusion.

Third, the does not take into consideration the cost of required for a local business to advertise their products and services during the program. Perhaps, the local business might not be financially buoyant enough to pay what the TV station currently charge as cost for advertising during the program and might have seen another TV station that charge less to advertise during a news program. Presumably, if the TV station reduces the cost of advertising during a news program, they might not lose advertising revenue any longer.

Finally, the complaints made during the period which the late-night news devoted more time to national news than weather and local news might not be related to the duration in which the weather and the local news were given, viewers might call in to make complain about the mode of accuracy of the weather reports delivered by the program or made complain about the poor coverage of the local news.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence provided by the author to fortify the conclusion is not sufficient enough to support the assumptions made. Ultimately, the argument perhaps might have been strengthened if the author could prove how the time the news program was delivered would not affect the number of views and also the amount charged by the TV station to advertise a local business during a news program.