Mayor Switzer has been the mayor of Auburn for the last year and a half. In the last year, crime rates have gone up, unemployment has increased and many businesses have moved out of town. Voting mayor Switzer out will help solve Switzer’s crime problem, will help create jobs and will prevent businesses from having to move. How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

In this argument the author establishes an unfound correlation between Mayor Switzer and crime rates, unemployement and exodus of various businesses. Author's reasoning for the conclusion is seriously weak and lacks key considerations towards the claim. Unconvincing and suffering from various flaws, this argument is clearly insufficient to establish any judgement. Among various flaws present in this argument, three are the most important and could not be ignored.

First, the author fails to mention the evidence or data before ruling out a correlation between Mayor Switzer and crime rates and unemployement. It is not explicitly known or mentioned in the argument that how an individual could directly influence the crime rates or unemployement. For example, a criminal is directly correlated with crime and if there are numerous criminals roaming around in the city, the crime rate is likely to increase. On similar lines, author nowhere mentions how the two entities under consideration are related with each other.

Second, the argument does not contain any data points or factual information about the crime rates, unemployement or moving out of business. What was the crime rate 5 years earlier and how does the year on year trend look like. Whether the increasing crime rate and rise in unemployement an expected change as per the trends available or are these situations influenced by any phenomenan. Answer to such questions clearly remain missing in the argument, hence decreases our faith in the arguments conclusion.

Third, the argument does not contain any alternative factors resposible for mentioned cases. For example, a rise in crime rate could be due to a recent big scale event organized in the city, where city is host to thousands of tourists and criminals have various oppurtunities to steal from these tourists, resulting in increased crime rate. On similar lines, increase in unemployement could be due to international market conditions, where almost all of the companies are struggling to keep up there employee base. Author fails to mention such scenarios in his reasoning.

The argument could have been strengthened if the author would have mentioned the above three key considerations in the purview of the topic discussed. Data points and factual information are almost always neccessary before making any claims or conclusions.

In conclusion, the argument present is weak and lacks required strength to be conidered as true. It requires a lot of unfounded assumptions and causal connections. To strengthen the argument the author must explore and identify factors which further our faith in the conclusion.