"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that declination in the economy is most likely the cause to make the citizen less physically fit and fitness levels will improve when the economy does. The conclusion of the argument relies on some stated and unstated assumptions and without the justification of these assumptions the argument will be weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument depends on the fact that citizens are not reluctant to do physical exercises provided with all the facilities to do it. Then the money may be a factor to hamper them to meet the physical fitness standards. If citizens are lazy in recent years and are not much inspired to be cautious of their health, then money can not help them to meet physical fitness.

Secondly, the argument readily assumes that citizen who owns computer also maintains physical fitness. But we know that in recent years, video games, internet browsing, etc. are so common among our young generations that they even do not play any kind of outdoor games. Therefore, the stated assumption is that overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest should be validated properly.

Thirdly, the argument also assumes that the cost of fitness-related products and services has been neither exorbitant nor less supplied, but only the earning capability people have declined. If the prices of products and services are high or less supplied in recent years, then people will buy fewer products and services.

In conclusion, to assess the merit of a situation or decision it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors, otherwise, this kind of argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.