Understanding concepts and ideas or learning facts: which is better for students

I agree with the statement given alongside. Understanding the flow of ideas and concepts is much more important than simply learning facts.

Students must develop a basic understanding of ideas and concepts that are being taught to them. Facts are mostly derivates of those concept only. One can reach towards a fact step-by-step by using the intuitive understanding of the underlying concept. While a fact is usually about a particular topic or valid only in a particular field of study, a concept isn't limited in that way, it can be applied in any field of study, if one has understood it throughout. This paves way for students to grow and succeed in whatever field they choose, and not restrict expansion of their knowledge.

From a student's point of view, learning a fact and writing it down in the exam might seem an easy way out, and it may be from a strictly examination point of view. But this does not cultivate any actual learning in the student's mind. He/She would not be able to explain this fact to someone else, or apply it in any real-life scenario later on after the exam is over.

Consider a simple example of a code written in any programming language. In this situation, having an understanding of the flow of code (ideas) and the underlying algorithm (concept) is really necessary to be able to solve similar problems but with different variables. Say, there's the need to evaluate a complex differential equation in a computer program. If a student memorizes the code for a particular equation, he would be able to solve that specific equation to perfection, but the moment a different equation is encountered, he will fail to solve it since he completely ignored the algorithm of solving an equation.

In conclusion, I feel that understanding the root concepts is very essential for a student to learn and grow in their field of study. Simply clearing exams by learning facts is not beneficial for a student's career, being able to solve a new situation by applying a concept is more important.