Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the opening of a new Nature’s Way franchise in Plainsville might be a success and have only positive outcomes, the author fails to make a cogent case when it comes to fundamenting the reasons that would lead to this success and does not show any significant proof to his assumptions. Even though the correlations stated are logical, there are hidden and unsaid factors that would require more attention.

The first unsupported assumption is that Nature’s Way will be successful just because Plainsville’s residents lead healthy lifestyles and other “healthy and workout stores” are finding success in the town. Contradictory to what the author states, this might become a big challenge to overcome, especially if residents are satisfied and loyal customers to the stores that are already there. Nature’s Way would have to invest a lot in marketing and learn how to attract customers.

Another assumption made by the author is that the town’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers. Even though it is easy to understand why one would think that, there is no way to guarantee that kids will maintain the healthy lifestyle as adults. Nonetheless, even if they actually grow up to be healthy and fit, it is also impossible to make sure that Plainsville’s children will choose to stay in the town forever. If the majority of the kids choose to live elsewhere as they grow up, Nature’s Way will not be able to count of this “next generation of customers”.

Another assumption made by the author is that, because the residents follow a healthy lifestyle they automatically be attracted to Nature’s Way products. Even though being fit is one important matter for this store’s customers, it is also important to realize that the cultural and financial background of the customers is extremely relevant. It important to assure that the products are not only within the financial reality for the town’s residents, but also to make sure that the products will be appreciated by the customers.

In conclusion, before opening a new franchise in Plainsville, Nature’s Way should not only investigate more about the residents cultural and financial background but also make sure that they would actually see the opening of a new store with good eyes. It is also important to be realistic about the future of the town’s schoolchildren and acknowledge that there is no way to guarantee that they will be future customers.