Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Pursuing a higher degree is not a trivial matter and the majority of students feel overwhelmed and stressed when it comes to deciding which classes or projects they will dedicate their time to. Because of that, as a way to make the process smoother, they often choose to take classes in their fields of endeavour or fields that they are already comfortable with. The prompt recommends that universities should require students to take classes from divergent fields. I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students should, indeed, learn something from outside their field of study for 2 main reasons.

To begin, all the fields of study are co-dependent and interconnected and this is a tendency that globalization has only strengthened. Thus, in order to be a well-rounded professional, that can work independently, it is essential to learn things from divergent professional areas and learn how to deal with challenges within all the subjects. For instance, nowadays, the majority of the jobs for students majoring in the field of social studies requires the minimum knowledge of data science and coding. Because of this, even if a student is getting straight A’s in all the classes from his field, he will face substantial difficulty to get employment if he knows nothing about other fields. The example above illustrates that the job market values interdisciplinary and well-rounded professionals, who can navigate between fields and skills.

Further, when students are allowed to explore different fields of endeavour they face a great and unique opportunity to discover new interests and skills and it guarantees that the career path they are following is, indeed, the perfect fit for them and the one that will make them happier and personally fulfilled. For example, if a student has always been great at math but was never given the opportunity to investigate other fields, there is a great chance that, not only he has the potential to excel in a lot of different areas, but also he could be pursuing a STEM related career just because that is “all he knows” and not because he truly believes he will happy in that field. Research has consistently demonstrated that happiness is a crucial factor and has a direct impact on how effectively we work; because of that, it is essential to guarantee that the students are given the opportunity to explore all fields before committing to one for the rest of their lives.

Of course, some argue that the docent’s academics results might be negatively impacted by the inclusion of divergent subjects - considering that the student will have to put extra energy to progress within a field that he is not familiar with. However, this is a personal experience (of the student) and not a universal rule; while a few students might struggle with the challenge, they can still learn valuable things from the process such as the importance of hard work and discipline. Nonetheless, there is also a considerable number of students who will discover new interests and skills that they can excel in and would not discover otherwise.