The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the opening of new dormitories at Buckingham College could have positive outcomes and make the university more attractive for prospective students, the author fails to make a cogent case when it comes to fundamenting his point of views and does not show any significant proof to his assumptions. Even though the correlations stated are logical, there are hidden and unsaid factors that would require more attention.

The first evidence that is lacking in the argument is the correlation between the construction of new dormitories and the increase of students. As it is easy to understand why one would assume that more dormitories=more students the author says that new dormitories will make prospective students more likely to enroll at the university but relies on no evidence. A student’s decision on where to go to college is very subjective and might be influenced by multiple factors; that being said, there is no way to guarantee that dormitories will make the enrollment grow.

Another essential factor not addressed by the author is the high costs for the construction of new dormitories. There is a chance that, in order to compensate for this expanses, the university will need to increase the tuition. If this turns out to be true, it could affect the students willingness to attend Buckingham because of the big debt they could be under after graduating.

At last, the author also arguments that “students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus living” but this is also not, necessarily, true. The statement provides data to prove that students are from a low-income home or would struggle with the city’s expansive living costs. Yes, it is easy to assume that we all want to live comfortably with the minimal expenses possible, this does not mean, however, that students would face financial difficulties.

All in all, the author does have some good points that, if proved true could guarantee the university’s success. However, the statement lacks data and concrete prove and it is essential to analyse and research further before the construction of new dorms, because there could be hidden negative outcomes.