"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

In the above argument, Author concluded that if skateboarding is prohibited then the business will return to its previously high levels is a controversial one. In this argument, the author fails to provide why there is a relation between the decreasing numbers of shoppers and increasing skateboarding. Additionally why there dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

First, the author stated that numbers of shoppers decreasing and skateboarding increasing is a weak one. Since author does not provide how many shoppers decreasing and why they decreasing.may be numbers of shop owner are very little compared to the whole central plaza, May be shop owner faces problem in their trade or may be customers in their centraL PLAZA FACING ECONOMIC problem. there is no sufficient data to accept this argument. We know that data provide strong evidence to accept any kind of theory. so this argument is flawed.

Second, central plaza store owners believe that their downfall is only one reason and that is numbers of skateboard user increasing. Is there any rules that if skateboard increased then shopper will be decreased? Increasing the numbers of skateboard usually, depend on many factors and for that there is no reason to decrease shoppers. Additionally, increase in litters and vandalism has several reason that may be there is lacking of security guards or lacking of police station nearby. So this argument could have been much clear if author explicitly sated that what type of correlation between shop owner and skateboarding.

The author also failed to illuminate an appropriate conclusion because of two reasons. Firstly, the author concluded based on weak evidence and secondly prediction in a wrong way without any data. The author could show strong evidence and could prove why prohibiting the skateboarding leads to increased business. it is likely that having a downward trend for business has only one weak reason like increasing skateboarding in the area.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above reason and is therefore , unconvincing. It could be strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts, data, the financial situation in the central plaza and business situation. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.