Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The author concluded that by reducing skateboarding, the number of shoppers can be increased. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which the argument could be evaluated.The conclusion relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidences.Thus, the argument is weak, unconvincing and having several flaws.

First of all, the number of shopper in central plaza is steadily reducing.The author has not mentioned what is the source of this data.Without a definite statistics, it can not be presumed that there is really a reduction of shoppers.Moreover, it plausible that the survey was conducted in the period when the citizens of the area have left out somewhere during vacation.Thus, the authenticity of this data is dubious.

Secondly, the author has tried to make a strong relationship between increase number of skateboarding and reduction in number of shoppers.No clear evidence was shown between this relationship.It is highly possible that due to advancement of technology, people these days prefer for window shopping as this is not only convenient but also cheaper.Moreover, skateboarding has nothing to do with shopping and no clear association was made.

Thirdly, interrelationship between increase in litter and vandalism and number of skateboarding users was not made need further examination.

Finally, it was recommended that skateboarding in central plaza should be prohibited in order to increase the shoppers. Does the author think reducing skateboarding really bring back the shoppers? What is the evidence behind such conclusion? Rather it urges to examine the potential factors contributing for the reduction in shoppers.Therefore, a detailed survey need to be done in order to bring the shoppers back.

To summaries, the argument seems weak and unconvincing based on the given information. It could be strengthened if the author mentioned these facts. Therefore, a in-depth examination is needed and knowledge should be gathered to substantiate the conclusion.