"Over the past two years , the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many central plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in central plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in central will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A recommendation has been made for the city to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza due to the fact that,

majority of the store owners in the central plaza believe that they are experiencing a decrease in sales, because of the corresponding increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza.

For the recommendation to have its predicted effect, it would need to answer the question of cause and effect. How does the increase in skateboard users in the plaza affect sales? This argument does not say how the increase in the number of skateboard users affects the sales of the store owners. If the argument had said that as a result of the increased amount of the skateboarders, the shoppers were uncomfortable, or the place was rowdy for the shoppers. Then we can agree that a ban of skateboard users from central plaza, will lead to an increase in the sales of store owners.

Also, there is the question of things changing. Did the store owners change the goods they usually stock? or Did the store owners not listen to the needs of the shoppers, and stock up on what their customers want? As time changes, individual preferences changes. So this may also be a case of the store owners stocking up on the same thing over the years, and the needs of their customers has changed. If they do not attend to the needs of their customers, then a ban on skateboard users in the plaza will not bring the desired rise in sales.

Additionally, we have to address the vagueness of the recommendation, based on the fact that the store owners believe, that it is the rise in skateboard users, that caused their fall in sales, and led to increased vandalism and litter. Did the store owners see the skateboarders litter and vandalize the area? We cant base an argument just on peoples believe, which sometimes are usually wrong. An argument has to be backed up with facts. Had the argument said, that the skateboard users were actually seen littering and vandalizing the plaza, Which in turn made it unsafe for the shoppers to come to the plaza to shop. Then recommendation will actually give the predicted results.

Ultimately, the answers to the questions of cause and effect, things changing, and vagueness if answered from a neutral perspective, we would see that the recommendation may have the predicted results to an extent.