A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Getting an education is a necessary endeavour in today's world. In fact, nations take pride in the education of their citizens, as an educated nation is an advanced and progressive one. The prompt suggests that the citizens of a nation, be required to follow a national curriculum, until college level. In my opinion, I moderately disagree for three reasons.

Firstly, on what basis will the curriculum be created? what will be the standard? what will the curriculum be measured against? Who will be the ones to create the curriculum? If the curriculum is going to be created by government officials, politicians, or legislators, then the curriculum might be a bit biased to what the officials think is best for their nation. So priority might be placed towards designing the curriculum for her citizens to take up jobs in government, or take up jobs that they feel is more beneficial to the economy of the country, such as Law, Medicine, or Business. But, what about the other occupations, such as plumbing, artists, dancers, or furniture makers, that even though, they don't contribute directly to the economy of the country, helps to ensure the smooth running of the nation, to cater to the needs of the people with the services they render. If there is no diversification in a nation, then the economy is gearing up for failure. Effective diversification is needed for the proper running of a nation.

Secondly, different states have different cultural values and heritage. And, they will want her people to know more about their roots, by incorporating the history of her people and traditions into her curriculum. A national curriculum will not take into cognizance the different cultures of the states. Thus creating a disconnect in her citizens. They will create a nation, with individuals who are not connected to their roots, who have no knowledge about their people. Will this help foster patriotism? No, I don't think so, this might just make a nation end up with people, who do not care for her, and who will not go the extra mile to make things work in the nation. Furthermore, knowledge of one's roots helps in making an individual well-balanced.

Thirdly, in the formative years of a child, parents choose courses that make up the extracurriculars of a child, and these courses or activities are chosen based on the observed inclinations and interests of the child. Such activities include ballet lessons, art classes, and music lessons. A national curriculum will not take into account the likes and interests of a child. Also, parents pick courses that they feel will help to improve the character of their wards,and make them better members of the society. Courses such as law and ethics, Christian religious studies and others. And they discuss these courses at the end of the day, which leads to more bonding sessions as a family, and helps to make the children well adapted members of the society. Taking this right away from the parents, can seem as a loss of authority on the part of the parents over their wards, and a closed-door to further bonding sessions over their children's education.

However, if the national curriculum is designed in a way, that the nation chooses only the core courses, and the states and parents can choose other courses to be added to a child's curriculum. Then the idea of a national curriculum will be a great suggestion. Best of all, everyone wins. As the nation, will have citizens that will go on to take up jobs in government, and other occupations that are essential to the economy of a nation. And other citizens can go on to take up occupations based on their what they enjoyed doing from childhood. With everyone well connected to her roots, and doing what's best for their nation.