Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

In this letter, the author points out the decrease of shoppers in Central Plaza due to the popularity and increase of skateboarding in the Plaza. The author of the letter asserts that many owners are facing a dip in their business due to the increased number of skateboard users in the plaza. This argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarrented assumptions that the skateboarders are causing the Central Plaza owners to lose business, rendering its conclusion invalid.

Firstly, the author blames the increase in skateboarding for the decrease in shoppers in Central Plaza over the past two years. To relate skateboarding with shoppers does not seem to fit well to me. The overall decrease in shoppers may have caused due to completely different reasons. Maybe the shop owners of Central Plaza overcharge for their products making people hesitant to buy things from them and that might have led to a decline in the business. It could also be possible that due to the construction of a newer plaza right beside Central Plaza might have attracted more customers there. In fact, if there is an increase in the number of skateboarders in the Plaza, there will automatically be an increase in the business of store owners as more people will purchase stuff from the Plaza. So without a clear evidence blaming skateboarding for causing a dip in business is too critical.

Furthermore, the author also thinks that due to increased skateboarding there has been an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the Plaza. There are also other people visiting the mall excluding for the skateboarders. It might be quite possible that they are equally responsible for littering and vandalising the Plaza. It might also be the case that the owner of the Central Plaza does not have a proper cleaning and sanitisation staff in place leading to a dirty and unclean place. If the argument had substantiated the allegations that the skateboarders were the ones vandalizing and littering, it still would have to prove that these actions were leading to a decline in business.

Finally the authors recommendation is for the city to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. Dong this, the author assumes that businesses will return to its high again if skateboarding is banned in Central Plaza. I think this assumption of author is pretty absurd and only relies on predictions. If the skateboarders are prohibited to enter, this will inturn lead to even a further decline of customers in Central Plaza. Everybody nowadays cannot afford a car or a bike, a skateboard helps them to save time and complete their shopping in a faster way. So this again states that the authors arguments are flawed and lacks mettle.

Therefore, in conlcusion I would say that the authors argument is filled with flaws and incomplete with incogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, this argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.