We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.

The given argument suggests that the funding for the movie Working Title needs to increase by 10 percent because the director who is associated with the movie is only working for the first time as a movie director and has previous experience of shooting commercials is notoriously wasteful. The movie producer also states that if they fail to get the 10 percent increase in funding, the movie is assured to fail. The given argument has some stated or unstated presumptions which best sound dubious and without which we cannot conclude that the failure of the movie is inevitable.

Firstly, the author assumes that the advertising business is notoriously wasteful. Which in turn assumes that the first time director for the movie, who has previous experience of shooting commercials for a shampoo company will take some shoot take after take. It might be possible that while shooting these short length advertisements, the author would know how to extract the best from the actors in a few takes. The notoriously wasteful advertising business does not tell anything about the director's personality. It might be the case that the director would be a fully engrossed and involved, hardworking person. There is no proof regarding the director's wastefulness, which makes the argument look feeble. It is assumed that the director would not have any concern regarding how much time is sent on any one scene. This is a very big assumption made by the movie producer and he has not stated any evidence which would support this. Hence, without any evidence, the argument does not hold good.

Furthermore, the movie producer states that they have saved money by hiring naive assistant producers and directors. He or she goes on to say that this saved money would go to the actors and crew for the overtime of the extra hours caused due to naive assistant directors and producers. It is assumed that the actors would want extra money for the overtime done by them. It is not necessary that all actors would want extra time for the overtime they do. Some might even do the work for no charge because of the enthusiasm and their loyalty, faithfulness devoted to their work. The crew might also experience the same thing. It is further assumed that since the assistant directors and producers are naive, they would take extra time to arrange things. This could be proven wrong. It is very much possible that the assistant directors and producers reach the set before time and ensure that no delay in work or overtime is caused by them.

Finally, it is assumed that if the movie does not get 10 percent increase in funding, it is going to fail. There is no support provided that the movie would fail if it does not get the 10 percent increase in funding. The argument fails to produce support or evidence for the presumptions made by the movie producer in his or her memo. Therefore, in conclusion, I would say that the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.