Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author states a memorandum from the business manager of a television station; which mentions that the local news and weather news of the television channel must be prolonged as the viewers are complaining about these sections and local businesses have also addressed their agony by cancelling advertising contracts. The statement presented by the business manager of that television station is unconvincing for all the below reasons: (1) No evidence if the viewer complaints are due to the shorter screen time of local news and weather news segments; (2) The local businesses might have some other reason for their abrupt cancelling of contracts; (3) Viewer ratings of all segments must be analyzed before taking any action.

The business manager mentions that since the past one year, the reduced time allocated to weather and local news is the reason for the increased complaints that have been lodged regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. The business manager fails to realize that the complaints could be due to the erroneous facts reported about the weather. It could perhaps be that the local news that is being covered by the news channel is biased towards one community in particular and is pillorying specifically another community for that matter. The number of complaints regarding the weather and local news section could be anything than the reduced number of screen time for these departments. The business manager does not mention any evidence which corroborates the fact that these complaints are due to the reduced time allotted to these sections in particular.

The business manager indicates that the plummeting advertising contracts are due to the smaller time slot for weather and local news. However, this does not show any clear indication that the advertisers would want an increase in weather and local news sections. The point in primacy is whether do these local businesses air their advertisements during the weather and local news broadcast? Usually, local businesses would want to air their advertisements during shows or news sections which have a high viewer rating as this would mean higher visibility amongst the public. The business manager did not consider the viewer ratings of these sections, before stating that the weather and local news segments are needed to be prolonged.

The local news and weather sections would usually have lesser content on a daily basis and hence, would economically not be efficacious for the local businesses to air their advertisements during these sections. The local businesses advertisements would leave an indelible mark on viewers only if the news segment(s) is long and with the highest rating. This would also highlight the time at which it is being broadcast-ed.

The television channel must do a thorough discussion with the local businesses and address their agonies. Them rescinding contracts abruptly could indicate some grave underlying issue(s) which would require to be resolved immediately to not incur any financial losses. These parameters must be judged before pinpointing to the shorter local news and weather sections as being the real devil.

Recapitulating all the points addressed above, the weather and local news segments are required to be prolonged only if the audience specifically requests for it. A more detailed analysis on the required prolongation of the local news and weather sections can be done if: (1) the viewers ask for it specifically; (2) if the viewership ratings of these segments are higher in comparison to the other sections; and (3) meticulous analysis of the listed complaints from the viewers regarding these sections, and its resolution up to viewer's satisfaction.