People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author states that people who make decisions based on emotions and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. People who take decisions based on their emotions are always considered puerile; which also shows that they poor in decision making. I concord with this statement for the following reasons.

Our brain is highly perceptive to various types of stimuli: emotional or physical. The reaction or response time to different situations is varied for different people. Some individuals have increased promptness, and presence of mind, whereas others are comparatively slower. It is observed that when confronted with a arduous situation, the brain undergoes an overwhelming set of byzantine emotions, directed by the neural signalling processes. In such situations keeping an aplomb mind and being composed is a difficult feat to achieve. Although it is said that with regular meditation and other wellness practices, this can be achieved.

Individuals who take precipitous decisions in their current state of mind, be it doleful or choleric states, can be definitely lead to grave consequences. The denouement of such events would definitely be regretful. As it is said in various studies that, a sudden influx of emotions can be overbearing on the brain and it would not be able to think matters with a limpid mind. Decisions taken in such unsteady periods would not be clearly thought after.

However, there are some people who corroborate their capricious decisions taken during such intensive times, and this undoubtedly makes them poor decisions makers. This clearly highlights that they are trying to defend their untenable act(s) by giving some reasoning which does not make sense logically. The reason why these individuals could be labelled as poor decision makers is because they tend to take hasty decisions and then cover up their acts by maintaining lousy reasons.

Let's take an example of the company Monsanto which has been in various legal disputes regarding its product Roundup. This herbicide has been clearly been flagged as a product which has a component that induces cancer, specifically lymphoma, in many people. When various such reports were arising in different parts of America, the company did not study through these case reports and instead continued the sale of Roundup. In this case study, the company was committed to save its name and hence, justified all its products to be clean with just the right amount of chemicals that would just target the insects. For the most part of the last ten years, the company kept on justifying their ingredients, if an immediate action would have been taken in the first few cases itself, the company could have saved many lives, and also saved a lot of lawsuit money.

In recapitulation, I would like to confirm that individuals who take precipitous decisions based on their current state of emotions are not capable of handling their inclement emotions and hence, should not take any hasty decisions. Such decisions would definitely be regretful. In addition, justifying those emotions later would flag you as a poor decision maker who cannot handle the emotional upheaval.