A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author states that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. This idea might initially sound enchanting, however, it has its pros and cons, which we need to decide after all the below items are considered.

A standardized national curriculum would mean that all the educational institutions would be teaching the same curriculum across all the states of a country. This would be beneficial for all the educational institutions as they would be able to train their teachers in accordance with the standardized syllabus, as appropriate. This in turn also exhorts all the colleges to customize their course work with required and optional electives.

In countries, which have multiple boards of education, each follow different depths in which subjects are covered and also the inclusion of practical work is at varying levels. The outcome is that, some students who come from schools that cover subjects at a superficial level, would find the college coursework to be arduous. Hence, this pinpoints that the uniformity in school curriculum can be helpful.

In addition, a standardized curriculum would provide convenience in arranging question banks for all the standardized tests across all schools. In this competitive world, wherein all the colleges and graduate schools require the elite pedigree of students, they would find the outcome of the exams as a fair deciding factor during admissions. Now this idea might come off as a fair way to assess students, but we know that every student is different. Some prodigious students might score better than other students, who are not so good at rote memorization; which is what most exams' evaluation is based on.

Albeit that this initiative was proposed with a positive idea of having a uniform syllabus, there can be some grave consequences. In a democratic country with a secular constitution, this perhaps calls for communal melee. Some communities might not agree with the content; requiring far more presence in the syllabus. A deeper and a affirmative inclusion in the syllabus especially in social studies would highlight the communities history and culture; thus edifying people to become more tolerant and congenial to diverse cultures. This example is especially true for cities/states which are melting pot of different cultures and ethnicity like New York and California. These communities might also fastidiously look out for any mention of statements which might be ignominious for their community.

In sum, I would like to conclude by stating that a national curriculum although sounds fair and convenient, this initiative if propounded by the government would result in huge commotion and bias. This would also require many revisions to the syllabus to suit the ever-growing wants and needs of the country's citizens.