An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author promulgates that an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A content, which would combat the vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus, wherein many people are affected by this malady. I do not agree with this statement for the various reasons mentioned below.

With the advent of new genetic and bio-engineering technologies in genetics and biotechnology, man is able to manipulate the environment to a great extent and create new crops to suit his own requirements. Although these new fields have been in demand since the past few decades and have shown promising results in various studies, the confidence in the statement that this new variety of millet is definitely going to combat vitamin A deficiency is a matter of contention.

Firstly, there is no evidence as to how many people from the impoverished nation of Tagus are actually deficient in Vitamin A. A thorough study must be done to verify whether the number of people affected by this vitamin A deficiency is alarmingly large to take an immediate action.

The author mentions that the new strain of millet which has an apparently higher content of vitamin A is supposedly going to reduce the number of Vitamin A deficient cases. However, there is no evidence provided of any clinical trials on human study subjects which corroborates this statement. The real question lies whether the high content of genetically engineered Vitamin A is actually going to be absorbed by humans, the same way other sources of Vitamin A are absorbed. A complete clinical trial is required to be conducted on subjects to completely be confirmed on this matter. Another point to be considered is whether the individuals who are facing this deficiency are affected by some other disorder, which is indirectly hindering their vitamin A absorption.

The author highlights that the farmers will be paid subsidies to farm these costlier strain of millet. However, the question that sparks this statement is whether the farmers will be accepting this new variety of millet; as they have been using one particular type of millet. Some cultures are open to new accepting new advancements in biotechnology, however, in others its not. These farmers would find the older strain to be convenient in farming as they would know what to expect during the crop cycle and the harvest time, whereas this new variety might bring in newer never-experienced-before issues. Albeit, the farmers are given subsidies to buy this new variety, but a comparison must be made between these two varieties to check which is more economical in the long run. The additional precautionary measures taken during the farming of this crop variety is to be analyzed too.

In addition, in some countries people would not be accepting to new type of bio-engineered variety of millet, as they might assume this would cause some maladies. It would be an arduous task to convince people about the benefits of this new variety of millet. It is also difficult to convince people to use a substitute to millet, which has been a part of their diet since ages.

This newly engineering variety of millet crop has not shown any clear evidence of benefits in individuals for the government to propagate its usage. The government must first assign food and drug agencies to study this strain and only once efficacious results are obtained, they must be released in the public market. Otherwise without proper evidence, it would be a heinous crime to promote.

To summarize, the author states various benefits of this new variety of millet strain without any proper evidence on its vitamin A content, its efficacy, and also whether this new strain would be economical for the farmers in the long run. Hence, I would like the author to provide more supporting evidence to even consider this millet as a substitute to the original strain.