"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author of the given memorandum talks about the consequences of devoting less time to weather and local news in their late-night program news program leading to losses. The author states a few reasons for these mishappenings in this memorandum. In my view, the author's reasons are unsubstantiated and seem unpersuasive due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the author claims that the news agency over the past years has given more time to national news than the weather and local news which has led to complaints from the viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news. In my opinion, giving more time to national news might not be the only reason for these complaints. It might be possible that various other factors have led to these complaints. Maybe the people did not take interest and disliked the agency's coverage of national news. It may also be possible that the news agency had put falsified claims in their coverage of national news which the people might have found out at a later stage and have led to these complaints. It is also possible that as it was a late-night show, people would have been more interested to get the weather updates for their next day at work than listen to what's going on in the nation. So there are many reasons, that might have led to these complaints which the author does not account for.

Furthermore, the author talks about the local businesses canceling their advertisement deals with the news agency. There may have been far more reasons for them to cancel their advertisement deals than just the telecasting of national news. It may have been possible that, as the advertisements were telecasted in the late-night shows the TRP was not that great. Owing to that, they may have decided to advertise their shows in the morning news program as more people prefer to watch the news in the morning. So, the author blaming the telecasting of national news leading to losing advertisement revenues is pretty absurd and lacks evidence. Had the author put in some evidence claiming telecasting of national news leading to these consequences it would have given more support to the author's claims.

Finally, the author thinks that if the author devoted more time to weather and local news, it would restore to its former level. In my view, these are author's presumptuous assumptions and lack mettle. Had the author devised a perfect plan to bring the coverage up, it would have given the claims more support.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the author's claims are flawed and based on unclear reasons. Had, the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it would have bolstered the claims. So the author need to attach pieces of evidence to make the argument well-reasoned.