Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The manager attributes the complains and declining advertising income to the increasing proportion of national news, However, this seemingly reasonable arguement need to be further verified with more evidence before claiming it is sound.

Firsly, the manager claimed that most of the complaints are about fewer contents in weather and local news. However, before claiming the this phenomenon is problematic, there are still wanting evidence for the change in number of the complaints. Are the complaints get more as the contents are more about national news or they get less? If the case is that the complain get less but with more concern about regional news, it is not problematic. Additionally, how large propotional of the subscribers made complaints is also crucial, as it is not an issue if there are reported shows that less than 5 percent of them grumble about the contents. In above two hypothetical cases, the claim by the manager is no longer tenable.

A second doubts casted on the memoradum is that the manager tried to establish a causality between their canceled contract by local business with the shift in the contants. It sounds plausible, but the manager disregard many other alternative explanations that may also precipitate this. For instance, the number of subscribers and the growing social plant form can be two factors that precipitate local companies to cancel their contracts. If the local busines found that the televation station are get fewer followers so that their advertisment is less effective, or they noticed that spend the money on peddling their goods on social plantforms are more lucrative, they may still cancel their contracts. Therefore the assertion is weaken if such evidence is found.

In the end, there are still needy evidences in support the manager's claim that if they focus more on weather and local news, they can get more viewer. Even though the posit of restoring such content would attract more new subscribers, the change in totall followers depends on how many additional subscribers and the loss in current ones. Only if there are investigations that suggest there will only be very few loss in followers while get spate of new subscribers, the managers claim would be firm. Otherwise, the assertion would still be fallacious if the case is that they will lost many current viewers, which even outweighted the number of new ones they can attract.

In conclusion, it would be more shrewed for the consumers to gather more evidence on the possible ramifications for retoring the content as differnet evidences foresee differnet future for this televation station.