Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In the given context, it's conspicuous that the complaints received from viewers about the station's coverage of weather and local news have hampered the impression of the television station in some ways. The business manager's plan to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to the previous level might seem a good move. However, there are three specific cases that have to be clearly taken into account to actually make the decision.

First of all, since it's a late-night news program, where people are in their home, having dinner or just beginning to go to bed, it's more profound that the complaint may be targetted to the monotonicity of the national news itself. There might not be so much variation of the news, and thus rendering inspid impressions on people.

Secondly, it's not guaranteed that viewers will not be disappointed even after having reverted to the previous levels for weather and local news. Once again, there should also be variation in this and the news should cover the important events that is happening locally. Weather should be accurate enough so that people could plan for their time the following day.

Finally, the advertising revenues are also not guaranteed again after the revert. This depends on many factors, out of which making viewers fixated on the news is the one. So, to improve the advertising revenues, the former arguments provided above should be taken into account in an efficient way.

In the end, it's about the balance of important events, coverages and interesting advertisements to make people more interested to get tuned in to the news station.