Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. therefore, to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station is based on several factors and assumptions which are not mentioned. It directly relates the loss of contracts of the local businesses and interest of the general public with the content of the late-night news program. Further, they experienced a downfall during this period and thus, the manager concludes that the late-night news program has to shift back to the former method of devoting more time to weather and local news.

Because of the lack of correlation between the cause and effect, the argument could have several viewpoints and hence it is quite absurd. There has not been any survey conducted regarding the number of people who would want the television station to restore it's time back to weather and local news coverage. Moreover, the total number of complaints received during this period is not mentioned which creates another doubt as to what the manager meant when he quoted "most of the complaints". If the total number of complaints is 5, most of them could mean 3 or 4 which is negligible and the argument wouldn't stand true.

Adding on, the argument mentions that contracts of local businesses are canceled because of the time the television station is devoting to the national news. An important question arises which is not addressed as to why aren't the local businesses advertise in the day time. Exorbitant prices could be a vital factor for such a happening. Local business owners might have put an end to their contracts with the television station because of the sky-touching prices.

Further, the argument fails to mention the reason for shifting their focus more on the national news. There is a high chance that something very important is happening at the national level during this period because of which they had to cover more of the national news and this disbalance could be restored back in a few days.

In addition to the above-mentioned points, the journalist or reporter who is hosting the late-night new show may well have been a poor speaker which made the people lose interest. The manager, instead of restoring the time back to weather and local news, could provide the local business owners a discount or an attractive offer which sparks their interest back in the television station.

These factors have not been addressed properly in the argument which renders the argument absurd. The argument has to be reinforced with several pertinent facts and surveys which would eventually strengthen its point. As the cause and effect are not quite related to facts, the argument proves to be lacking in depth. This could be addressed by answering the numerous questions raised above.