A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that

employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related

accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers

hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time

of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired

judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highestrisk

occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy in incidents

based upon paid and unpaid leave.

The argument is based on several assumptions which may or may not be true depending upon the situations and circumstances. The main point of the argument is that employees should be paid even when they are on sick leave. This, obviously, is not as simple as it appears to be because the company or the institution has to consider numerous factors before adopting the idea of paying the employee on their sick leave.

Firstly, the study conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention might have been in only a few fields of occupation such as construction and industrial work which requires one to work with great care and diligence. There are other fields of occupation which are not so arduous and hence the employees in this field can even work during their sickness.

Secondly, the workload on the person who is sick can be reduced and compensated by any other employee in the company which eventually solves the problem of paying or not paying during sick leaves. Employees can be encouraged to work harder and arduously after they recover from their illness in order to make up for the unpaid sick leave that they had to go through. They could even work overtime in order to get paid and recover the loss that they faced during their illness.

Another important assumption upon which the argument is based is all the employees who request for the sick leave are actually sick and not prevaricating about their illness. Assuming that a company pays an employee on his/her sick leave, the employee would have a greater tendency to fake his/her sickness and get another paid leave and this could continue for a long time without being noticed. Hence, a busy company will have to face a substantial loss due to lack of productive work and more expenditure if their employees tend to fake sickness.

As not all the employees are bogus, a company should hence be subjective towards paying an employee or not during their sick leave. In occupations such as construction, labors should be asked to rest during their sickness and incited to work overtime during their salubrious days in order to compensate for the loss the faced. To avoid work-related accidents, instead of paying the employee, they should rather be encouraged to work overtime and make up for the loss and strictly restrict them on working while being sick.

In a nutshell, the argument is based upon absurd assumptions and need to reflect on the points mentioned above in order to conclude with proper logic and reasoning.